top of page

Assessment Post

Initially I aimed within my work to explore abstract painting, and how I could possibly expand on already existing methods of creating abstract by using non-traditional as well as traditional materials and composition. Within my work I wanted to convey motion and energy through gestural marks, and mood, and emotion through colour and composition. I also explored portraiture illustration at the beginning of this project. My main artist influences were initially the New York school, such as Pollock, Kline, De Kooning, Rothko, along with artists such as Henri Michaux and Yves Klien. I was Also interested in Minimalists such as Jiro Yoshihara and Christopher wool, and interested in colour use and composition from artists such as Damien Hurst.

After some exploration with illustration, I decided to abandon it in favour for my main idea for this project which was abstraction. Although I think I could have produced even more varied work, the use of materials and processes was to an extent varied, from standard acrylic on canvas to printmaking and painting on metal. I also think that some of my key pieces of work such as the larger paintings did manage to convey motion, energy through colour or balance and harmony, depending on the work, which I am happy with. (Final work shown below)

Abstract art is the emancipation of the mind. It is an explosion into unknown areas - Arshile Gorky


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page