top of page

Franz Kline

To get a better understanding of colour and line mark making within my work, I have been exploring the coloured paintings of Franz Kline (b.1910 - 62). 

In ‘Mycenae’ (1958), you can see how Kline expertly uses very basic colour combinations and mark making technique, and by using such simple elements, creates something raw, with a powerful presence. I am exploring this kind of simple colour field composition in my work to attempt to better understand how I can use colour to convey something similar to what Kline conveyed in his work, and to also build upon this kind of composition with different materials and ideas. 


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page