top of page

Arshille Gorky

Arshile Gorky’s (b. 1904-48) paintings, especially ‘Virginia Landscape’ (1943) shown below, explore abstraction in many elements. From shape and colour to line and compositions that while abstract, almost virge on suggestive figuration. When developing my own work I have been using drawings to try out more complex compositions before painting. Gorky’s work has tempted me to explore more diverse and detailed abstract compositions, and reminds me to mix and match drawing and paintings materials, to mix texture, colour shade and varying types of mark within my work - adding to and improving complexity. 


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page